Skip navigation


The U.S. dollar is the official currency on several islands: the United States Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, the British Virgin Islands, and the Turks and Caicos. Many of the smaller eastern Caribbean islands--Dominica, Antigua, and Barbuda, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, and Nevis, and others --use a common currency known as the EC or Eastern Caribbean dollar. Others have their own currency: the Jamaican dollar, the Dominican peso, or the Aruban florin. Even on islands with their own currency, the U.S

Register to view the full article

Register for and gain access to premium content including the CMI 25 Listing, our monthly digital edition, the MeetingsNet app, live and on-demand webinars, and much more.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.