ACCME Changes Accreditation Criteria

On September 5, the Accreditation Council for CME, Chicago, released an update to its criteria for accreditation that reflects the shift toward maintenance of certification, which requires physicians to undertake lifelong learning based on self-assessment. It asks CME providers to assess their own programs, and to improve them accordingly to achieve improved patient safety and practice improvement for their learner participants. The three levels they will be expected to move through will be

Register to view the full article

Register for and gain access to premium content including the CMI 25 Listing, our monthly digital edition, the MeetingsNet app, live and on-demand webinars, and much more.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.