Colonial Cities

Puebla: (Puebla state)

Puebla lies in a large valley flanked by four volcanoes: Popocatepetl, Iztaccihuatl, Malinche, and Citlaltepetl. The city was established in 1531 by colonists to whom Spain had granted lands and Indian slaves.

Noted for its French Renaissance design, Puebla's colonial architecture features many churches and buildings with ornamental, wrought-iron balconies and window gratings. Throughout the city, walls are adorned with a lavish combination of dark red a

Register to view the full article

Register for and gain access to premium content including the CMI 25 Listing, our monthly digital edition, the MeetingsNet app, live and on-demand webinars, and much more.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.