euro (yoor'o) the basic monetary unit shared by countries of the European Union since 1999

Twelve countries have adopted the euro: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain.

Denmark, Sweden, and the UK have not adopted the euro, but may in future.

The Coca-Cola Corp. will convert nearly 300,000 vending machines across Europe so that they will accept the new currency.

Register to view the full article

Register for and gain access to premium content including the CMI 25 Listing, our monthly digital edition, the MeetingsNet app, live and on-demand webinars, and much more.

Already a member? .

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.